Scientific Advisory Board

SYNBIOCHEM - About - People - Scientific Advisory Board

External Scientific Advisory Board

Prof Lionel Clarke, Chairman
Lionel is at the forefront of steering and developing SynBio for IB applications and has extensive knowledge and experience with applied biotechnology. Among other roles he is the Director of “Bio-Environmental Solutions” consulting on low-capex low-carbon energy and climate mitigation solutions, and co-Chairman of the UK Synthetic Biology Leadership Council (SBLC). Lionel is also a Honorary Chair in FLS, The Chairman of the External Advisory Board for our SYNBIOCHEM, a Visiting Professor in the Department of Bioengineering at Imperial College, London, and an EPSRC Engineering Strategic Advisory Team Member.

  • Prof Lixin Zhang, Chinese Academy Sciences, Beijing, China
  • Prof Martin Fussenegger, Biosystems Design & Engineering, ETH, Switzerland
  • Dr Katia Pauwels, Scientific Institution of Public Health, Belgium
  • Hilary Sutcliffe, Matter, UK
  • Dr Steven Pearson, Centre for Process Innovation, UK
  • Dr Murray Brown, GlaxoSmithKline, Stevenage, UK*
  • Dr David Gara, Agilent
  • Dr Reshma Shetty, GinkgoBioWorks
  • Dr Jason Vincent, Syngenta, UK*
  • Dr Axel Trefzer, LifeTech/ThermoFisher, UK*
  • Dr Tom Crabbe, UCB
  • Prof Nigel Minton, Nottingham SBRC
  • Prof Dek Woolfson, Bristol SBRC

*These members of the EAB are also industrial partners.